Well Hi There!

I wasn’t sure what to title this blog in general, or this post specifically. But my goal is an overview of what to expect from this blog.

In a word, shenanigans.

I plan to use this blog to excitedly overanalyze pop culture. Expect topics like Disney’s “The Lion King,” Taylor Swift’s “You Belong With Me,” and of course, Walt Disney’s crown jewel “Air Bud.” I also plan to do it in ways I haven’t seen it before rather than the common themes. Don’t expect a big attack on “Beauty and the Beast’s” shining example of Stockholm Syndrome, everyone does that. But you probably should expect to see me restate my strong belief that Gaston is as much a victim of the patriarchy as anyone else in that movie.

I don’t know how long this will last, but I plan to keep it going as long as there are plot holes to expose by paying far too much attention to detail to projects that don’t really deserve it. For starters, I was thinking recently about Disney’s “Hercules.”

Disney’s “Hercules” is essentially just the second Christopher Reeves Superman film, appropriately named “Superman 2.” In “Hercules,” the main character leaves his home as a child and is raised by simple mortals who are in awe and fear of his abilities. He learns of his true nature by meeting an artificial rendition of his father (a hologram for Superman, a possessed statue of Zeus for Hercules). He meets a woman while saving her from extreme peril and falls in love. He later gives up his powers for love of that woman, but is forced to get his powers back when a threat from his father’s past puts the entire world in jeopardy.

They’re the same movie. I get that there are archetypal themes at play here. The powerful outsider, the hero’s journey, overcoming the failings of your father. I get that. But to stack them all up in chronological order should have added up to a lawsuit.

I actually really enjoyed “Hercules.” It’s a flawed movie that attempts to jam Greek mythology into a Judeo-Christian framework, but the music is outstanding, the artwork is fun, and the characters are engaging. Plus, every time I watch “It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia,” I get to remember that Danny DeVito used to do voices in children’s movies.

That’s it for now! Love and kisses!

Leave a Reply

